Sabahar – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

If you go to Addis Ababa you have to find a driver that knows where Sabahar is located.  It is such an amazing store and the grounds are gorgeous.  They sell everything from jewelry to blankets.  I always stop there when I visit to load up on more goodies to bring home.  Amazingly enough, everything I have purchased over the years has held up beautifully.  We use our blankets and I definitely wear my scarves and not a one has unraveled or torn.  They make some of their products on location, but also hire weavers around Ethiopia that have looms at home.  Here are a few images from my recent trip followed by my new blanket and pillows that are now my favorites.

s2 s1 s4 s5 s3 s6

One thought on “Sabahar – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

  1. i love seeing the looms and threads. textiles hold a special place in my heart. are you taking pre-orders for your next visit? 😉

Leave a comment